A Spiky Surprise Out Back

I remember this latest strip mall that went up years before I moved from Albuquerque, as a major arterial road was widened.

The street behind it allows neighborhood traffic to access it, without having to drive onto the 55 mph+ Paseo del Norte drag strip. Smart, even if by accident. Of course, this caught my eye.

LaCuevaTC-Retail02c-SML

Also smart are the higher quality, native plantings in the various retail access points as seen above and below. Too bad this palette wasn’t included along the arterial’s more visible access points.

LaCuevaTC-Retail01-SML

.

Just a little maintenance is needed, especially tree pruning, so plantings are healthier and turn more people on to tougher natives.

LaCuevaTC-Retail02a-SML

I enjoy the dueling of two succulents – Dasylirion wheeleri and Nolina microcarpa (?). I’ve never used both in close proximity, but maybe I should give it a try? It really works well here. So does the Cylindropuntia imbricata.

LaCuevaTC-Retail03b-SMLLaCuevaTC-Retail04b-SML

Most Chilopsis linearis produce abundant seed pods, which many tell me is their main objection to this fine, bulletproof native. Cleaning up seed pods might be a good idea, even if tedious.

Then again, removing countless Chilopsis volunteers nearby is tedious!

