Home on the Range

“Xeriscape (native plants) won’t work with this kind of architecture.”
– ex-clients

FrontHome-Alpine01-SML

I don’t agree, either. That Alpine TX front garden is simple yet interesting, but it does take some savvy. Which is easy if one steps back and organizes just a little.

Hence a reason I drove 4 hours SE instead of 3 hours N…

My last day in Marfa, I cruised down Ranch Road 2810 aka Pinto Canyon Road, which leads far beyond town to the south.

Ranch2810-MarfaSW-SML

Had I driven one more mile, I might have never returned home to my job – too alluring. So, I turned around at this modern version of a Texas ranch gate.

Ranch2810House_Entry01-MarfaSW-SML

There’s a house way back, so large it’s actually in scale with the vast scenery.

Returning, I saw this before the drive home.

House_PavingGrid-MarfaS01-SML

.

Across town, these neighboring houses…

House-MarfaE01-SML

Agave parryi var. truncata is a ball-like sculpture with a regular spacing, adding interest to the other plant massing.

House-MarfaE02-SML

House-MarfaE03-SML

I like the idea of walking through a gate and an Opuntia ellisiana hedge.

.

A former industrial building is now someone’s house. Good use of Fouquieria splendens and Agave scabra.

WarehouseHouse-MarfaDwtn01-SML

