Water Trough, Walls, and Wildflowers

My first evening was a scorcher, but the serene Capri courtyard by Ten Eyck’s office was perfect to stroll after a drink inside.

Trough-CapriTen01-SML

Christy says this was a nod to Donald Judd, but this also reminds me of a famous Luis Barragán garden with a horse by a water trough, only less spare.

I can’t help but see what many rehash out of catalogs was not rehashed here.

Instead, native and adapted plants, but natives emphasized including those some wrongly disdain. And bold or rugged with softer flowers, and axial lines instead of curves where not needed.

Trough-CapriTen02-SML

“Serenity now!” – Seinfeld

WallsTableWflrs-CapriTen01-SML

I would have just liked the budget for a gabion wall of this one’s scale.

If only they served breakfast and great coffee here, I’d arrive at 6:30 am. Though not sure I want to live in Marfa to do that.

WallsTableWflrs-CapriTen02-SML

Massive yet delicate. Yet another reason to move towards buying my own abode once again, for a garden to zone out in.

