Focal Points in the Flatlands

Warm winds blowing, heat ‘n’ blue sky
And a road that goes forever…
I’m goin’ to Texas – Chris Rea

This weekend, I took a road trip to a jazz party in Odessa, Texas. It’s been running as long in years as my age is.

Crossing the Pecos River and continuing to enter a seemingly featureless setting, Yucca elata disappeared as Yucca campestris took its place.

 

-SML3

I stopped by my father’s WWII flight training post outside what’s left of Pyote and the Rattlesnake Bomber Base. Checking ahead of each step, of course.

Pyote05_2017-05-20-SML

The main hangar is barely there, and below, the base was later re-purposed into…

Pyote08_2017-05-20-SML

…a juvenile correction center. Even that didn’t last, though Pyote alone might be really good punishment!

Pyote10_2017-05-20-SML

Then it was Monahans, the town where my late parents were married.

Monahans01a_2017-05-20-SML

The flags and this corner monument area aligns well with the courthouse, from where one passes by. I overexposed the allee of Quercus virginiana looking to the courthouse, so here it is looking away from the courthouse.

Monahans02b_2017-05-20-SML

Then there were this Yucca rostrata, at the end of the alley I was using to get back to the main street, pointing my now-washed car back onto the freeway.

Yucca_rostrata-Monahans01_2017-05-20-SML

The jazz and my room later that night were great, too! Odessa – no pictures this time.

5/24/17 weather: 95 / 58 / 0.00

One Reply to “Focal Points in the Flatlands”

Comments are closed.