Hospital: Daytime This Time

A coworker has accompanied me every few weeks to bustling El Paso, so I can take care of some wrap-up work.

Combined with barbecue at 2 restaurants, dinner time trips caused too many late arrivals here to see much. This time was a morning trip to close out bank accounts, so I finally saw my work in daylight.

Without overplanting, this new landscape is thin. Some looks good…

SPWMC-Front01_2017-05-13-SML

…some other plants and many grasses not so good, the daytime arrival under a scorching May sun revealed the brown, bad news.

And poorly-placed signage added to a few changes. Striping seems less obtrusive, until the owner implements their wayfinding consultant’s excellent signage

SPWMC-Drop01_2017-05-13-SML

Out the canopy-shaded walkway to the front doors, the Salvia clevelandii are already growing in to soften the Yucca rostrata.

SPWMC-CurtainWall02_2017-05-13-SML

So Cal: meet the Texas Big Bend. This side was barely interesting to me originally.

SPWMC-CurtainWall01_2017-05-13-SML

It now may be my favorite spot there; the curtain wall effect with the simple yucca and shrub grouping is better than I envisioned.

SPWMC-Drop02_2017-05-13-SML

Oh yeah, Hueco boulders and yuccas. Or, I need to branch out more from using scenes from desert hikes and mountain biking.

Finally, I’m including my plant lists…

PlantList-SPWMC1

PlantList-SPWMC2

The clouds are mostly where I had to change some symbols that my CAD program didn’t generate at the correct size.

Salvia clevelandii again –

SPWMC-Front02a_2017-05-13-SML

SPWMC-Front02b_2017-05-13-SML

The break patio, some more concrete seat walls. And after the monsoon season, time to prune up the Forestiera neomexicana.

SPWMC-BreakE01_2017-05-13-SML

The mostly unoccupied medical office building (MOB) has this great razor-like entry canopy.

SPWMC-MOB01_2017-05-13-SML

It’s flanked on either side by a spare but purposed green ribbon between a tree grove for shade…Prosopis glandulosa trees and Baccharis x starn groundcovers.

And a rhythm of Dasylirion wheeleri of course, every 12 feet or so.

The bump-outs use many Hueco boulders filled in with spikier or flowering desert plants: Agave parryi ‘Estrella’, Chrysactinia mexicana, Fouquieria splendens, and Dasylirion wheeleri included.

SPWMC-MOB02_2017-05-13-SML

And out via the service road, with a swale and Sporobulus wrightii along it. Plus Larrea tridentata, Fouquieria splendens, an Agave lechuguilla beyond the swale, to tie in with the desert background.

SPWMC-SSvcDr01_2017-05-13-SML

The blank area between the grasses and curb is an 8 foot wide, future walking path. I prefer compacted, small crushed gravel – I’m sure the owner will do pricier concrete.

I’m showing some of the good parts; I’ll try and follow up sometime with some odd plant issues I saw driving onto the project.

5/16/17 weather: 76 / 55 / T

