Plant With Potential: Krameria

 

I remember seeing this low shrub one April about a decade ago, while taking a workout hike during a business trip here.

Krameria parviflora / Range Ratany (it needs a new common name!)

Krameria_glandulosa-AMtn1-SML

Sorry about the blur, as it was windy and my iPhone isn’t the best camera.

Krameria_glandulosa-AMtn2-SML

Of course, it has a flower color rather uncommon in my area, it grows on gravelly soil and desert pavement with the usual suspects like Larrea tridentata and Prosopis torreyana. I also like how the grasses blend or even grow up through it.

Krameria_glandulosa-AMtn3-SML

A duo of Opuntia orbiculata add sculpture in back.

My guess is partly how the Chihuahuan Desert is so poorly botanized, with many in my field unknowing about it! We also have so few nurseries into our natives or that are proactive – the spirit in Portland, Tucson, or Austin is not here. Perhaps nobody has bothered to try this plant, either?

Yet it’s common on gravelly and rocky uplands like this, including other desert southwest ecoregions. Though I’ve only seen it here and far west Texas.

Krameria parviflora stands about 18 inches tall and a bit over 2 feet wide. Any common name ideas?

4/24/17 weather: 88 / 51 / .0

3 Replies to “Plant With Potential: Krameria”

  1. I find this plant to be lovely in flower, but it becomes a gray, snaggly thing afterwards. Hort friend I took with me to find it was unimpressed.

    That post-flowering look sounds like a factor, so maybe it would be best as a background or filler?
    Though I’ve been told that before on other plants – only to use them well and get many compliments – Saltbush, Cholla, Mariola, etc.

    Like

  2. Good observation, I also look to the surrounding countryside to find plants that will tolerate the drought period here, but also the winters which can be cold.

    Here we missed winter this year, but native areas are one of my starting places for success. If only most clients got that!

    Like

Comments are closed.