Roadtrip! Big Bend Scenes

Some people find it difficult to pick a topic for a new blog post; I find it hard to choose between so many!

There’s almost too much inspiration in nature, not to mention private and public gardens – good and even bad. Hence this roadtrip to the Big Bend. Photos from 5/2014 –

Above 4000′ elevation –

2000′ to 4000′ elevation –

The Big Bend is actually quite a drive from El Paso, 5 hours to the Wiley Coyote-ish, but touristy town of Terlingua. And in May, when my town has perfect, dry weather on the warm side, it’s scorching there even at higher elevations, for at least part of the day.

Know the car’s AC was cranked to and fro “the Park”, as locals call it.

Above 4000′ elevation –

2000′ to 4000′ elevation –

Below 2000′ elevation –

Once past the tourist areas, the areas east of El Paso and into the Big Bend are quite a different world, than even El Paso. Same state, in fact not even 1/3 of Texas!

Stay tuned for more of the plants we saw, plus the few towns on the way. Few photos on the return trip, as Elizabeth had to get back in time to pick up her son at El Chuco Paso “International” Airport.

Have you been to the Big Bend? Or another isolated place that could be on another planet?

5 Replies to “Roadtrip! Big Bend Scenes”

  1. Glad you made it over there. Did you take the road to Dagger Flats? Morning is the best time to go. Loads of Cacti. Looking forward to the plants! D.R.

    Only my 3rd time in the Big Bend; 2nd at the Nat’l Park. Never have, but Dagger Flats is a must next time. Plants coming soon…

    Like

  2. Agree, Bryce Canyon does also appear other-worldly. Joshua trees look extra-terrestrial, as sometimes do ocotillos and many yuccas. All gorgeous:-)
    Oh, for a future trip to the Big Bend again, and on a day the ferry to Boquillas is running!

    Glad you enjoyed your favorite place in Texas! Your comment on the ET nature of some desert plants reminds me of a few 1950’s sci-fi movies set in such places. The Boquillas ferry…ka-ching!

    Like

  3. Honestly most of the Intermountain West seemed other worldly to me when we first moved there. I was blown away by the concept of federal lands open for camping after growing up in Texas where most property is privately owned (and posted with No Trespassing signs). But the first time I saw Bryce Canyon and other wide open red rocked spaces I had no words. I gaped for hours. It was sublime!

    I had forgotten that you both lived much further west. Growing up in Denver is the same way to the east as TX (all private farms and ranches), but at least you can go west and into the Rockies, too bad it’s 2 hours to start escaping crowds. We have many choices from El Paso west, and those views… Bryce Canyon, Zion, and the Grand Canyon north rim are next.

    Like

  4. I have never been but it is on my list of places to see in Tejas!
    I to never have a hard time thinking of what to blog about…my difficulty is finding time to do it!

    And many people I talk to when I go to that area say they’re from Houston! Yes, we just need time to do it all. To be a professional garden visitor…

    Like

  5. Phew, I’m exhausted with all that traveling. So desolate and hot! Wow, that is scorching hot. Always amazes me that plant can live in that.
    Thanks for the tour.

    You bet, Phoenix doesn’t often reach the heat the Big Bend does and so early…they can have it! But I’m sure January is great.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.