Tour: The Art of Kern Place

Next stop on the garden tour, an artist couple’s gardens. At least 6 spaces around their abode, front and back, make for excellent outdoor living in our enviable climate.

Humidity? Mosquitoes? Ha!

Kern905-Front01_2015-04-11-SML
aloes, santolinas, primroses, mesquite
Kern905-FrontPorch_2015-04-11-SML
perfect…I could sit there hours
Kern905-RearGate_2015-04-11-SML
one of the owners being funny

The ubiquitous El Paso and southern New Mexico rock wall and arched gate, but done up with character like they deserve. Even potted Yucca elephantipes out for the summer

Kern905-Rear01_2015-04-11-SML
no wonder they call their home “Casa Paciifica”

In this case, pacifica means peaceful and tells of the owners originally being from the LA area, I think Pasadena.

And what’s down the axis, along the shade ramada?

Kern905-RearClose01_2015-04-11-SML
so relaxed, just overgrown enough
Kern905-PaveDtl01_2015-04-11-SML
paving insets in the middle of the driveway
Kern905-PaveDtl02_2015-04-11-SML
the back also game for paving insets
Kern905-MulchDtl01_2015-04-11-SML
this river rock inset looks like moving water

It seems to resemble shimmering, moving water down a creek, flowing down between iceplant masses. Having lived 23 years and counting away from creeks, except the one most years in Tijeras Canyon, I still feel what I remember from the mountains in Colorado.

Kern905-RearOutdoorBed_2015-04-11-SML
imagine this on a warm afternoon…each and every one #siesta

There can be plenty of dust in the air here, but that same dry air almost ensures no dew most mornings and nights when it’s warm.

8 Replies to “Tour: The Art of Kern Place”

  1. Nicely done, personal touches like touches of art make a garden special and relaxing.

    And hello to SA 2x in a row! It’s funny I’m seeing all these uses of accessories and art pieces in the garden, but done to relax and gaze at, not be stunned by. Being absorbed for a couple residences that need something deeper…

    Like

  2. I love all the artistic touches that are part of the garden and LIVE there…not just intrusively placed. I also love your comment about just messy enough. I caught that too….looks natural and serene…relaxing to look at…replenishing to my soul

    You said it better than I…exactly. There was not only heart but soul in each thing. That must be one interesting couple, too.

    Like

  3. Another lovely (and personal) garden. That last shot has me dreaming of adding something similar in our garden under the shade pavilion.

    True dat! I took so many photos here, and I only wish I could have hung out with the owners more.

    Outdoor sleeping…ahhh. A band I like from north Africa actually prefers that when on the road, especially when they are in the desert.

    Like

  4. Hi, David! I’m not sure if you remember me, we met at FloraFest not too long ago. I’m the student from El Paso High! I just wanted to say that I really appreciate you taking the time to post about this garden, I know I’ve enjoyed it immensely in the past! Those aloes are so incredible!

    I also wanted to ask you I’ve it’s possible to transplant some native Sphaeralcea incana seedlings growing in my backyard. I know they have taproot, but do you thing I can propogate using cuttings? Please let me know what you think, and keep up the great work with this blog and your firm!

    -Josh

    I do remember meeting you, and good to hear from you, Josh! That was an interesting garden with much more to see than I posted (so many focal points), but I have to post on other gardens from that tour for now.

    I’m not sure how easily Spaeralcea incana can trasnplant, but find small ones with less flowers, plant in a shallow, basin. After transplanting keep from drying out, and mulch the base (2-3″ depth of dried old leaves or small gravel should work). That might work right now before it gets hot?

    Like

  5. Thanks for showing all the little details in the paving, I love it! The river rock is cool too.

    I could have just showed details from the homes on the garden tour…amazing use of that talent with often disgarded materials, which some have!

    Like

  6. No humidity or mosquitoes?!?…sigh** This is a lovely example of some hard work resulting in apparently laid back, easy spaces. Those primrose (for example), aren’t growing in one designated space because they do so naturally. There is evidence of some wonderful planning (and planting!) that belies the casual appearance. But then, that is what artists often do so well – work hard up front to get to a result that doesn’t broadcast anything but beauty! (I’d be happy lounging there day or night!)

    Just think of the skin cancer rate out here, as well as when we have a drought! Pollen minimal too, but dust compensates…ugh. I should have figured this would be up your alley.

    So true on the work it takes to keep certain plants soft, but not invading, like those Oenothera. Very true, I must have some artist in me, since that’s what I do on plan and in practice during maintenance.

    Coffee…yes, I ODd on coffee this morning, better now.

    Like

  7. Love the garden photos and the home is beautiful. It would be really nice if you could give a little background of the “artist couple.” Did they plan the landscaping, how long have they been in El Paso, what kind of art do they do would add to the charm of their space.

    Thanks, and agreed on their place. The owners and I briefly talked about some plants and spaces, and they added to some existing when they bought their house; I don’t remember their timeframe. We didn’t discuss their specific field.

    Like

Comments are closed.