Waking Up in a New Place

You might be able to guess where I just travelled to.

FoggyAM-DatePalmSML
Phoenix dactylifera, fog, old buildings

The City by the Bay?

any more ideas, when I add the Washingtonia palm?

Or somewhere else near the California coast, about to take a morning walk near the beach? Then, enjoy a bold coffee and croissant, as I read e-mails, do a blog post or even work remotely?

how about adding more of the building?
FoggyAM-CypressSML
fog trying to lift, Cupressus sempervirens…any more clues?

No, I woke up in my own place in El Paso’s Sunset Heights. It was the fog that transported me to another place.

The effect is amazing even with recent cool and gloomy weather in El Paso.

Unusual or typical weather can offer clues where we are, or our gardens are. Whether failing to thriving, in-place to out-of-place.

still here…Yucca torreyi and the top of a Cupressus sempervirens

Do you often see fog where you live? I bet more than some realize.

Where I live is the exposed tailbone of the Franklin Mountains, where wind or a breeze are so common. So, I’m surprised when moisture and calm come together as much as they have here. Though it was 29F when my photos were taken on 1/15/2014…probably not San Francisco!

Some places in order of their average days / year with fog * –
194 Houston TX
165 Seattle WA
164 Philadephia PA
159 Atlanta GA
123 Portland OR
120 San Antonio TX
118 Austin TX
108 San Francicso CA
102 San Diego CA
96 Oklahoma City
56 Denver CO
16 Albuquerque NM
9 El Paso TX
7 Phoenix AZ
3 Tucson AZ

* recorded at an official weather station (source 1, source 2)

6 Replies to “Waking Up in a New Place”

  1. San Antone …foggy’er than San Fran???!!! Really? Whoa

    That is pretty great!

    Another surprise to me on SA vs. SF. And some coastal places with little fog (Hawaii, Miami) and others loaded with fog.

    Like

  2. Did not know Houston is the foggiest city! That’s a surprise. I love fog. Southern California used to get quite a lot of it, before everything was covered with concrete, asphalt, and houses. Now the cool nights no longer lift moisture from open ground.

    Love the ghostly photos!

    Thanks, I didn’t know about your area’s decrease in fog; I thought your’s was from the marine layer moving inland at night more than the ground. The statistics noted include low clouds, ground fog and mist, so that may explain it. And a number of places average 150+ days of some fog.

    Like

  3. Interesting. We’ve had quite a bit of fog lately but rarely does it last the day. Usually it starts out clear (when I wake at 6:30), then at some point, give or take a bit but close to 7:30, the fog shows up and sticks around until noonish. Then at some point after dark it’s back. Strange…

    I saw that same thing at my old foothills house after rain, monsoon season or a few odd wet winters…in town, fog at dawn while I was sunny…by 9 or 10 I was socked in. Maybe it’s from steep terrain nearby?

    Like

  4. San Diego, is my bet.
    I lived there on summer in 1959.
    Never forgot it.
    Moving from Phoenix, it was heaven!

    Nope, just my own bed in El Paso, the fog got me going early to take photos. Now I see why Phoenix and SW people flock to SD in summer…

    Like

  5. Not a surprise my hometown tops the list. I remember fog mostly during the school year when we had to listen for the bus. We had to wait for the doors to open to know where it was! A function of living near the coast with dew point and matching temperature.

    Lived in CA for a while, it was not a contender though I did think Santa Barbara for a second there.

    I was surprised at Houston that high, actually, even though it has the Gulf fairly close and bayous. Maybe my lack of familiarity with it, only “seeing” it from 2 airports and landing / take-off? Just here in El Paso, where I see fog close by in the valley occasionally!

    Like

  6. Well that’s just weird – the list shows Austin gets more foggy days (on average) than San Francisco. Fog is such a fascinating statistic because it translates into a distinct experience depending upon where you are, but it also offers a familiar experience, no matter where you are.

    That’s well-put, and what I was trying to say! As to SF, their official station is the airport on the E side of their peninsula, less foggy than the W side. Your area gets the gulf air piling up on the escarpment, but probably not like the Pacific and W SF.

    Like

Comments are closed.