Done: Boulders and Bike Racks

The bike racks are in, and everything is finished and adjusted. What was a late start to winter is firmly in place, without any doubt.

At least I don’t feel bad about work deadlines, to cut into my mountain biking and hiking…it’s no fun to do that in long pants, bundled up! 45F is it and I’m thankful we’ve dodged the last couple 1-2″ snowfalls.

Make that 41F mid-afternoon, yesterday at Sierra Providence East –

SierraProvE-EntryConfBldr_2014-01-03-Sml
these final boulders really make the impact
SierraProvE-EntryPlntBasin_2014-01-03-Sml
the contractor set the agaves and boulders nicely
SierraProvE-LawnBikeR_2014-01-03-Sml
bike racks were the last remaining work item

Am still not sure how this Bermudagrass sod is staying so green in this cold.

Nor am I sure these bike racks wil get much more use than the last-minute, conference-driven, dont’cha know planned vegetable garden and movie wall will. But I hope to be wrong on all three…

SierraProvE-LawnPlnt_2014-01-03-Sml
the MP Rotator irrigation heads are working fine

I’m trying out MP Rotator heads at a few different projects, that have smaller spaces and heavy soils, since they slowly put down water, allowing more to soak in. Plus, the water droplets from rotary heads are heavier and larger than those on spray heads, with less loss to evaporation.

We’ll see!

SierraProvE-LawnBldrs_2014-01-03-Sml
more well-placed boulders at the physician entrance

Not to mention, some very dormant red oaks following some nights in the teens above zero. It’s almost always 3-5F cooler out here than the middle of town where I live, especially at night. And that’s a few degrees cooler at night than my office, which may be zone 9a.

I think it’s not only odd for those oaks’ growth habits and foliage shape to be what I specified, Quercus buckleyi, but so is the loss of every leaf after turning. Red oaks as a whole usually keep their brown leaves until spring.

I’ll close out with some Texas exceptionalism!

SierraProvE-SecedeInvade_2014-01-03-Sml
“Secede? Y’all are lucky we don’t invade!”

(that on a recent bumpersticker sighting)

Something about that Texas flag, when it’s in a good context, that gives me a bit of pride in my new state. Even if it’s only by a few miles.

So, tip your bottle of Shiner, and enjoy some good BBQ…hopefully, you can get it where you live :-)

5 Replies to “Done: Boulders and Bike Racks”

  1. I like the matched precip/slow application rate of the MP’s, but compensating for overspray can be a pain. I treat the bed area against the turf as a transitional hydrozone.

    Send BBQ.

    True, and I just noticed that overspray, glad I put mostly mesic plants behind the lawn there.

    Will do!

    Like

  2. Good work! We can get good bbq where we live, place called Hecky’s, but I admit that it is not as good as Le BBQ in Austin.

    I bet Chicago must, since it goes with jazz and blues, which you have no shortage of!

    Like

  3. You’re enjoying your new state of mind. The yucca and boulder combination in the second and last photos has me thinking about reworking the bed by the garage this year!

    Ha ha! I like being able to get good BBQ and green chile in one town, but usually with a smile. They did great with that area, as they did on other berms.

    Like

  4. DC: You’ll have to come back to the Austin area and try out some Firemen’s #4 (or any other locally brewed Real Ale offering) along with your good BBQ because yeah, we can totally get that…

    The work done on this job actually implements your plans – the exception that proves the rule, perhaps. You suppose these guys have been reading your blog? I can hear it now, “OK, we gotta partway bury the boulders, and we have to use the trees as specified, and oh right – let’s try to be aware of how we are using negative space at all times. This guy’s a real stickler for that.”.

    Happy 2015!

    Happy 2015 to you! We can get the Real Ale and Rahr + Sons here, but Fireman’s #4 sounds new. ATX is the buckle of the brisket belt, I never miss BBQ there. Would be like a trip to northern Italy, and get real risotto! The work does seem to be mostly there, though I left off that which didn’t make the cut! And you’re right, I can hear Joe the VP with the contractor saying that… The architect found my blog posts to get exterior landscape photos, I couldn’t believe it!

    Like

  5. Shiner…tecate…I’ll take either…In the state I live ;)

    Though unlike me, you can stretch your arms out, and still be in the same state!

    Like

Comments are closed.