Pizza Time – Continued

Now, the daylight view at the new Dion’s in the south valley. I look forward to seeing my design there in the fall, as it grows in more.

For now, photos from the oddly infernal evening of 7/18/14 –

phew – it looks good by soft evening light, too…

from the north, an upright Juniper anchoring a mass of Hesperaloe parviflora…

‘Blue Ice’ Arizona Cypress originally specified was changed to Spartan Juniper, also upright. Plant availability in the high desert is sad…

Red Yucca is so moving in broad swaths over (yawn) clumps of 3…
and under the largest Chaste Tree?

The Chaste Tree is an alternate to Texas or Mexican Redbud…not available….. Too bad it’s also quite invasive in the high desert, more than one volunteered into drainage basins and even home landscapes over my last 2 decades.

Orange Globemallow / Spaheralcea munroana…new to me, but the online listing says “hot desert, infertile soils, …”…this parking expanse in the valley…happy!

I hardly ever specify globemallows, but they were one of the native species on the development’s odd plant list, so I went for it…in masses as a high groundcover.

A few of the red-pink S. ambigua ‘Louis Hamilton’ were at my last house, but they declined the first few years without any irrigation, which is odd. A couple of that selction found their way into the nursery’s stock for the parking islands, a nice surprise, and with this site’s better soil, they might do better.

Globemallow flowers almost continuously through our long, hot summers, which is more than I can say for all too many plants.

a #pollinator magnet, primed to keep blooming…
Pale Yucca, junipers, Muhly grasses at the drive-through lane…

This is the start of the ponding area plantings, large river rock to slow erosion…plants that can take flooding and dryness only. Some natives were actually prohibited, speaking of the odd plant list – actually, that chapped my hide.

Maybe more photos of the basins, including this one, in the future? And another post of some things I wish I would have done differently, in retrospect.

Chinese Pistache and Trailing Germander…that sun…
not sure what happened to these large Dasylirion wheeleri…the Sandia and Manzanita Mountains ready to fade into night, like me…

The parking islands facing the Dion’s exit have purple-flowering Chaste Tree and Orange Globemallow.

parking islands did get water harvesting and curb cuts

When this area’s 6-8″ average yearly rainfall happens, over half is in the form of intense monsoon season downpours. This will capture some storm runoff on the way to the development’s basins.

more islands down the line with more Chinese Pistache trees and ‘Regal Mist’ Gulf Muhly in staggered masses…I already can’t wait until fall
4 Replies to “Pizza Time – Continued”

  1. If we get much more of this (climate change?) summer heat here, i’ll be trying some globemallows myself. I do love me some orange summer flowers.

    You just might! I looked up PDX area weather graphs for the last 5 years, and your hot spikes are noticeable, but not enough data going back.

    Like

  2. I am a mallow fan in so many of its iterations. I have two volunteer orange globe mallow (at least I think that is what they are) curbside that are leaning out over the street in search of sun. I’m hoping to get seed to propagate more.

    And yay for orange mallow and purple chaste blooms in tandem. Perhaps they chose the plants for the color theory aspect? Hard to tell in photos online but it sounds as if it might be quite a striking combination.

    Would be nice to get the seeds and grow more out! I do think they like sun. Funny, but while designing I was only thinking “flowers facing out from the restaurant” and not specific colors (vitex blooms are off-on), but great how they work together. Globemallow has a muted look to it, maybe that’s why?

    Like

  3. Plenty of experience and thought to overcome challenges on this project. The water harvesting is getting more and more press as it should. That Regal Mist should be stunning in the fall.

    I like Orange Globe Mallow and added it to the heat island out front this year. It’s been slow growing but I haven’t watered much either. I’m calling it okay to (yawn) clump hesperaloe in threes when the swath of Silverado Sage is the star of the landscape.

    I’ll say, a challenge but the results are happening. (must have camera ready before the shearing starts) Interesting you are using globemallow, so I can’t wait to see how it does – probably nicely with some rain. 3’s – yours is so lush and designed well! Our 3’s = 3 plants, a boulder, miles of rock, another boulder, a yucca or a tree…

    Like

  4. I love those rainwater harvest cuts in the islands. More and more redesigning of such features in the west are going to have to be undertaken. SoCal will always be slow to follow suit. Believe it or not, the Hemet/San Jacinto area have large corner lot storm runoff reservoirs throughout their neighbourhoods, but the bad things is it’s only used as a catchment features for excessive water to evaporate.

    Globe Mallow is wonderful, I always cherished it if it volunteered on my land. One particular plant lasted over two decades next to my driveway entrance.

    I’m seeing variations of that in Santa Monica, Portland, and other areas in the west coast, but not sure of others. It only being utility without being planned for plants is a shame…most of our ponds are fenced wastelands. Globemallow at least used attractively is underdone…2 decades is great.

    Like

Comments are closed.