Kentucky Style

Some places like to be somewhere else too much. Some restaurants try too hard – more aioli? Some gardens try too hard – I had no idea Milwaukee and ___ were so similar!

Kentucky not so much – it seems at peace with itself. I missed the Kentucky Derby, the same weekend I was in nearby Cincinnati. At Covington/Northern Kentucky Int’l Airport, there was more than one excited woman carrying her derby hat in a special box, her man helping with her luggage!

And a southern accent took over just south of Cincinnati. Photos from 5/2-3/2014 –

Woodford01-SML
Woodford – on the bourbon trail…

From I-64 (21 years old) and I-65 (9 years old – don’t ask the year – enroute to my father’s last USAF post), I saw two swaths of this state and was impressed. Never have been back.

But so glad I returned, feet on the ground this time.

Woodford02-SML
I usually loathe tours – this old Kentucky home set the stage for something better…

The simple, tasteful planting and all that green made it.

the mash smelled exquisite, warm and subtle – the tradition…
all good tours come to an end…that scene…
Woodford-Barrel02-SML
but the end…
…oh yeah, the end…tasting…even a bourbon ball

Our tour was not quite full, and being at the end of the line, there were 3 places with samples left. And extras we did!

I even found bourbon ball recipes online that look to match; maybe some local pecans to top them with?

uniqie stone walls in this area…
another tradition as we left…just wait…

There’s nothing like being yourself in an understated manner. My first time on the ground in a state that’s not far behind the target of the assorted comments we’ve all heard about Alabama, “#47” New Mexico, Louisiana, etc. Kentucky seems to do it’s thing. And like I know many like the scent of a magnolia, the kick of green chile, or biegnets after zydeco…Kentuckians probably know a few of their attributes such as their scenery, horses, or bourbon are something to behold. They are friendly, too, and that coming from a friendly place.

creeks with water, not arroyos suggesting it…a Platanus occidentalis tree…
sycamores, fences, horses…oh my!

This went on for miles, until we reached Lexington.

the start of one memorable drive…

A kind police officer turned us on to an incredible route.

this rock wall was even better, the top course upright…
the last day in horse country dawned sunny and warm, springlike…

As opposed to spring in the high desert; the day I flew out, a huge layer of dust hung like fog over all of New Mexico and west Texas.

At the UK campus, there were several places where a pair of chairs were laid out, sun and shade. A nice touch for someone like me, to be sure. Will need to repeat this!

a pleasant campus…spring…
LexKY-Beer01-SML
beer over a good, laid-back lunch near campus…
LexKY-Beer02-SML
great name and logo…beer great, too…

I have many more images from that drive and campus trip. They should appear over time.

3 Replies to “Kentucky Style”

  1. Those walls are amazing – I can only imagine how many years they’ve been standing silent witness to everything happening around them. Such quiet peaceful views and imagine! A creek with running water. I’ve heard of those… Thanks for sharing your trip – looking forward to more!

    There were many variations on gray stone walls there, I need to see if I have more images of different ones. Peaceful, hilly, and we had a great time. Now to make bourbon balls…

    Like

  2. We have friends who will be moving to Kentucky this fall, there has been talk of visiting. The Woodford Reserve images will be helpful in pushing Andrew to want to go!

    I like the beer or bourbon bait for Andrew! Hope you both go out there…and 1-2 more posts on that trip yet.

    Like

  3. How lovely…I smell fresh grass after looking at all those expanses of it. Sooooo pretty! Beer looks yummy – scratch on your hand …looks like a gardener! ;).

    Such a laid back, mellow place to get in some rest. Had a few good beers and bourbons there. Gardener and mountain biker!

    Like

Comments are closed.