Poppies Plus

Though I didn’t hear one person remark on my area’s poppy display over the last week, I also was too busy to make much contact with the outside world!

I bet there were few to no poppies out there with the dry winter.

But I was amazed at one display driving through yet another historic neighborhood – central El Paso’s Manhattan Heights, complete with an expansive park (not quite Central Park, but less summer humidity or winter snow to shovel).

Taken 3/27/2014 –

CentralEPHouse-Side01_2014-03-27-Sml
Eschscholzia mexicana, or is it E. californica var. mexicana?

No matter the taxonomist opinion-du-jour, it’s Mexican Gold Poppy. Seeing so much of it and only on one property, is what grabbed my attention from getting back to the office. Some official information on it – here.

CentralEPHouse-Side02_2014-03-27-Sml
paired with Salvia greggii (R)…
CentralEPHouse-Side03_2014-03-27-Sml
and paired with it’s partner in crime on our lofty mountain slopes, Dasylirion wheeleri…

And you know by now with me, “soft and sharp” is such an important design principle.

CentralEPHouse-PoppyBee01_2014-03-27-Sml
back to the poppies, reaching for the sun…
CentralEPHouse-PoppyBee02_2014-03-27-Sml
some serious pollination…
CentralEPHouse-PoppyBee03_2014-03-27-Sml
work it!
12 Replies to “Poppies Plus”

  1. What a lovely post! I see you have been busy during my blogcation and I can’t wait to catch up. I love yellow flowers in general and poppies especially, although I confess I can’t tell the diference between the Californian, Arizonian and Mexican poppies. It always seems to me like the spring sun falls from the sky and spreads itself over the fields in poppy blooms just for us…

    Yeah, but so behind on my posts! I see why the poppies are all under the same species, though the California ones are more orange – those all died to natural precipitation in NM in the 2000-2005 dry period. Great description, it is like the sun spreading out over the land.

    Like

  2. As a native Californian, I have an affinity for the California Poppy, although I have Mexican Poppies growing in my front garden. Love them!

    I hear you; in some plantings here, both Mx / Cal. poppies were planted, and they are hybridizing!

    Like

  3. Love the poppies.
    I’ve tried two years in a row, with no success.
    Looks like these like where they live.

    Sounds like you gave it a good try…there’s much to the right place.

    Like

  4. Oh how I miss poppies…of the dessert. I am a San Diego native living in Houston. Thank you for the gorgeous pictures!

    I moved from SD in 1991, and I remember some the last spring. You’re welcome!

    Like

  5. GORGEOUS POPPIES. Love seeing them in the spring. Did I mention how gorgeous they are

    That they are! Are there places by you to see them, when you get some winter rain?

    Like

    1. Pichaco peak has glorious ones…..when we get rain. The whole mountain side is gold and traffic on I-10 comes to a stop. But not this year.

      Interesting on that much of a display; I figured some poppies grew by the Catalina and Rincon Mtns…guess not.

      Like

  6. It like those Mexican poppies, need to find the seeds. The red poppies I planted weren’t too happy and yellow would work better.

    Soft and sharp, I’m working on it. More native perennials going in around the agaves this year.

    They sell the seed at – http://www.plantsofthesouthwest.com/ Though these are not true poppies, they like the heat. I read they are best to sow in the fall in warmer areas…in your case when it can rain again! Yes to soft/sharp.

    Like

  7. Gorgeous! I have pass-along seeds from my mother’s poppies. I’m sure they’re non-native but they might qualify as heirloom since she’s grown and saved seed from the same plants for about 20 years. Beautiful purply-pinks, drought-tolerant and deer don’t eat them!

    BTW, we’re moving to a new place next month

    I was impressed at this fortunate finding. I think yours’ qualify as heirloom…will deer be a problem at your new place like the former house? And I can’t wait to see your new place…near Gruene Hall??

    Like

  8. I have a paltry two poppy plants but they got both too much moisture and too little sun. No blooms so far and I think we’ve passed the window of opportunity. I’m enjoying your images instead – much more impact for much less trouble on my end!

    Exactly – live though others’ successes, when you can’t grow the same. An advantage of virtual garden travel, via the blogging world!

    Like

  9. Pretty waves of Sunshine! Seems like those skyrocket juniper are popular in el paso, eh? I like the tall palm in the background with this house so much more…

    Close, but these are younger Italian Cypress…very popular! And that palm is the tougher, stouter Washingtonia filifera.

    Like

  10. David, That dose of sunshine is much needed here in CT today. We got a dusting of snow last night and all our yellow flowers …basically daffodils and a few remaining crocus…are looking very sad this morning. It does my heart good to see those mexican gold poppies swaying in the bright sunlight.

    Glad to have some extra sunshine to share! In the 1980’s, it snowed 12-18″ this time in April…twice. Spring should stick, soon up there…daffodils seem tough to kight snow if not too cold!

    Like

Comments are closed.