Old Project When it was New

I take a few hours most every week, to get all my project photos in order for my website and proposals. Slowly, I’m doing it!

Here’s a project you may have seen more recent photos of on my old blog – the first phase of Sierra Providence Eastside Hospital, that I designed for a Dallas-area architecture firm I’ve enjoyed working with. I need to pay it a visit, since I’m 260 miles closer.

For now, we’ll go back to when it was less than a year old, in December 2008 –

SPEast_Front02-2008-12Sml
“That’s right, you’re not from Texas…but Texas wants you anyway” – Lyle Lovett

SPEast_Front04-2008-12Sml
‘Hachita’ Blue Grama / Bouteloua gracilis ‘Hachita’ used under a Chinese Pistache by many parking spaces…it can take bison or human foot traffic
Penstemon_amphorellae01-2008-12Sml
Mexican Blue Penstemon / Penstemon amphorellae was substituted for Skeletonleaf Goldeneye (not available)…it did well, being a sandy soil plant…but as usual out here, few flowering perennials are left, no matter how tough and out of traffic areas, even when rabbit damage is not evident
Penstemon_amphorellae04-2008-12Sml
a soft color…hopefully some hummingbirds enjoyed it…
SPEast_Front05-2008-12Sml
that pre-sunset light…Torrey Yucca / Yucca torreyi was used instead of sand dune-native Soaptree, since this large building needed immediate impact…Center-stripe Agave / Agave lophantha was substituted for then-unavailable native, Lechuguilla…boulders, Hedgehog Cactus / Echinocereus spp., and ‘Cimarron’ Texas Ranger / Leucophyllum zygophyllum
See any mistakes? I do…more on this in a future post!
8 Replies to “Old Project When it was New”

  1. I agree with Ed, a book would be terrific. A blog post every 2 days is pretty cool too, though. You’re a machine David!

    I will see what I can do. Machine..ha!

    Like

  2. The stakes holding the trees seem a little cockeyed and the trees seem bent out of shape

    This has got to be one of the best garden design blogs on the web. David, you’ve got to write a book on southwest garden design.

    Thanks, and maybe I need to heed you and several others, to continue on my 2 books started 15 years ago? If anything, their focus is being honed! The stakes are often placed that way to resist the trees pulling them back, though those trees grow more irregularly and spreading…at least they did!

    Like

  3. Goes very well with the building. Love the yuccas!

    Thanks, one of the general contractor foremen was so happy to see the yuccas used, and they do make the point, over-removal of the dead leaves aside (that’s a past post or five:-).

    Like

  4. Alright, I’ll bite.

    It looks like the little trees on either side of the walkway were staggered to avoid a matchy/matchy look, but the tree on the right ended up too close to the walkway (ditto on the Leucophyllum and Bouteloua gracilis on the left side).

    I say get rid of the tree on the right and balance out the two sides by adding something closer to the boulder with the height and form somewhere between the Agave lechuguilla & Yucca torreyi (maybe wider too).

    And since I’m in waste deep- the boulders are well placed but the one in the center on the left side looks like it just fell off the truck. I’m bit obsessive about my boulders looking naturally in situ.

    OK, hold on for a second while I hastily climb into my fire shelter…

    Good stuff, some I had not thought of. In this case, the sidewalk was added next to the tree (where none was ever planned), but I’ll try to hit these on the follow-up post. Good point on some of the boulders, as they should look in-place.

    Like

  5. Oooh- way to pique my interest…mistakes? Mistakes! I’ve certainly made my own share and often enough ones that were not noticed in the heat of installation but rather in the second, third, or fourth more rational appraisals after-the-fact.

    I’m curious if you’d be able to source more of the natives you mentioned finding substitutes for now that more nurseries and suppliers are available?

    “2nd, 3rd, … appraisals” – so true when finding mistakes. I can over-analyze, which can make as many mistakes as not planning, and mistakes waste time / money. On sourcing natives – availability is so variable (local nurseries or regional grower in AZ), few specify natives, that I now list plant alternates on my plans.

    Like

  6. Great photos, David, thanks for sharing them.. It looks like an interesting project. Can’t wait to hear about the mistakes!!

    Thanks, it’s interesting to look back at old photos, knowing what lasted or didn’t. Mistakes, some will be interesting!

    Like

Comments are closed.