Front Patio

Back to Bill Robertson’s Albuquerque west mesa patio home, for a few early successes. I finished the design in 2012, and all the work was installed last winter into this spring.

That which isn’t ongoing as long as he lives there! Gardeners…

Photos from 9/25/2013; they’ve probably had a few light frosts (a bit early), but no hard freezes <28F from what I can tell. So I’m sure it’s still primo –

the powder-blue Pale Yucca goes well with the stucco, under the existing Piñon...a few other plants were adjusted for various reasons
the powder-blue Yucca pallida goes well with the stucco, under the existing Piñon / Pinus edulis…a few other plants were adjusted for various reasons; concrete was left as-is

I wonder if the owner will add some color like Dahlberg Daisy in the pots with the Beargrass?
Will the owner will add some color like Dahlberg Daisy in the pots with the Beargrass? Or stay minimal?
a very happy Texas Betony / Stachys coccinea alogn the compacted gravel walk to his library
a very happy Texas Betony / Stachys coccinea (think – hummingbird magnet), among some Pale Yucca along the compacted gravel walk to his library; I think I had one but it dried to a crisp one fine May
5 Replies to “Front Patio”

  1. I really like this garden in general, but especially the silvery blue of the plants against the pink wall. It really pops. I also really like the texas betony.

    Thanks, can’t wait until those powdery blue yuccas fill in/out. I must find a pic from a Phx nursery that once had TX Betony between their Octopus Agave.

    Like

  2. Looks wonderful. I envy the restraint of the minimalist look but my plant lust always ruins it for my own garden which is way too full.

    Thanks! I too struggle with the want for more plant variety; not sure minimal needs to be sterile.

    Like

  3. I hope he keeps the pots minimal. And i love all the blue – accents as well as foliage.

    Me too, but eclectic and intricate is how he rolls! Blue my favorite.

    Like

  4. That bear grass is crave worthy. I’m off to investigate if it will work here in CenTex. I think it stands well alone but agree something spilling out over the edges of those pots would be a graceful counterpoint.

    Yes, try your slightly finer-textured Nolina texana (ours same species but coarser). I bet he will add something in the pots!

    Like

  5. It looks so neat! I like the minimal. And I like being back in the land of the sunshine :)

    Neat, so far! It will look so good after 1-2 years…sun = ahh.

    Like

Comments are closed.