Adjust Agaves

Usually, minor adjustments are required of new landscape installations, no matter how carefully measured and designed they are. I’m no exception, though hopefully larger plants like trees or hardscape elements don’t need that.

Adjustments are also needed with the accidental shifting of items, sometimes due to added elements.

Photos from the warm, enchanted evening of 9/25/2013 –

look carefully, near the low, yellow Zinnia grandiflora plants
look carefully, near the low, yellow Zinnia grandiflora plants
between the added metate stone and the cosmos, an Agave bracteosa should be moved towards the stone
between the added metate stone and the tall, annual cosmos zinnias, an Agave bracteosa should be moved towards the stone…or the metate could be moved to be a focal point between 2 different elements or plants, and the agaves shifted…small spaces require that each element be placed very carefully
a look at my plan confirmed those agaves alternate and stagger with other elements
a look at my plan confirmed those agaves alternate evenly and stagger with other elements
some nice Agave bracteosa...1-2 already have some pups
he bought some nice Agave bracteosa…1-2 already have some pups, ready to duke it out with other plants and the Rain Lily clumps
6 Replies to “Adjust Agaves”

  1. It’s crazy the little changes. That is so true of small spaces. I quite often move things around. Sometimes just a matter of inches changes everything! I love it! I’m glad I found your blog again!!!

    Yes, so much to small space! Glad you found my new blog, too…much more to come, I think:-)

    Like

  2. The metate has just arrived at the party and is waiting to be introduced. Much better when the elements relate and interact.

    Very well said…I need to use that in some upcoming presentation on design implementation. Gracias, SF!

    Like

  3. I might tolerate the zinnia overrun of the agaves (if they are a seasonal feature in that zone) knowing the agave would not suffer overmuch from the temporary shading but I agree with you. I would definitely move the metate away from the walk towards the zinnia and adjust the angle a bit for interest.

    That little blue bench and table are so sweet. What a riot of color in that corner – I can imagine sitting there with cups of coffee in the AM and a glass of wine in the PM just enjoying that view. Very thoughtful design.

    I always switch the tall annual zinnias and cosmos – fixed! I meant the low, perennial zinnias in front (Z. grandiflora). PM shade in early summer on this agave is probably good, if they don’t overgrow!

    Thanks, exactly! I use colored non-plant elements for winter and summer interest; hard to imagine no place outside for a drink!

    Like

  4. I love that Metate and Mono as part of the hardscape decor. I did exactly this in my sisters landscape back in 2001. I had actually found one in Anza exactly as the one you feature here. It was Cahuilla Indian and a village site which most don’t know about, but i recently revealed in my last Juan Bautista de Anza discovering Anza Valley article a week ago. They make such kool and natural settings for native plants.

    Of course, like my sister’s place, such incorporated features can only be used in private guarded settings where thieves cannot steal. Very beautiful pics

    I occasionally see them in gardens in the SW, but usually they are just put in – not placed well, as the sculpture they deserve to be. I used to know a Cahuilla guy in Abq…I bet it was granite, too! I’ll read the article, sounds interesting.

    Like

    1. Actually, I’ve been spending more writing time over on Earth’s Internet blog. This is where I’ve put my Parts one and two of Juan Bautista de Anza articles. Part three will be my final one. I can’t go beyond there as I have no first hand experience with the ecology of those areas. My latest post on Earth’s Internet is about Ascension Island and “Green Mountain”, which actually has an incredible story behind it. The island was once a barren volcanic burned out cinder, now it has tropical forests which came from plants sailors brought over the years after being first discovered. Now, Scientific outrage over invasive plants which they insist are harming biological soil crusts lichens and ferns need removing. The island never really got rain before, now it does and the British Government policy of invasive plant eradication wants to destroy it. Sometimes the Scientific community can be so stupid and asinine.

      Thanks for the reminder on your Earth’s Internet blog…I had forgotten it, and though I missed it listed on your Timeless Env. blog, I found it via your Google+ page. Some interesting ideas to look at, can’t wait to read on Ascension Island and Juan Bautista.

      I side more towards native plants first, and invasive species that cause damage last, but I think there’s a place for balance including non-native plants that aren’t invasive, unless one is restoring an ecology to some known point in time.

      Like

Comments are closed.